Jana Meerman: Administrator

Jana Meerman

Jana was born in London, England where she began her classical ballet training from the age of four with the Arden Holford School of Dance along with supplementary training programs and performance opportunities with the Royal Ballet School's Junior Associates programme, the National Youth Ballet of Great Britain and the Surrey Youth Ballet.

She spent two years living in Colorado, USA where she trained with the Peak Ballet Theatre and performed annually in the Nutcracker with the Moscow Ballet and the San Diego Ballet.

Jana moved to Vancouver, Canada in 2006 where she joined the Richmond Academy of Dance's Professional Division and continued her training in classical ballet, jazz, lyrical, contemporary, musical theatre and modern. She successfully auditioned for and attended renowned summer intensive training programs across North America at the Boston Ballet School (USA), the Pacific Northwest Ballet School (USA), the Royal Winnipeg Ballet School (Canada) and the National Ballet School (Canada), many of them on scholarship.

During her time at the Academy, Jana was a three-time Provincial Ballet Finalist and represented the Academy at numerous festivals, masterclasses, seminars and local, provincial and international competitions. She won the Top Overall Senior Dancer Trophy & Scholarship at the Vancouver Ballet Society's annual Spring Seminar in 2011, awarded by Evelyn Hart, former Principal Dancer with the Royal Winnipeg Ballet.

Throughout her training, Jana performed in many classical works including Balanchine's Serenade (RAD); Petipa's La Bayadère (RAD); The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (SYB); Cinderella (PBT); the Nutcracker (various); and as the lead of Swanhilda in Coppelia (RAD), among many others.

Jana graduated from the University of British Columbia with a BA in 2016 and returned to the Academy to manage the office where her passion for dance, an extensive history with the Academy and a knack for organization sees her flourish in an administrative role.

Back to Faculty Members